TWC Athletic News
News Photo
TWC - Tue, Apr. 1, 2014

The Tennessee Wesleyan College Athletic Banquet was held Monday night to honor all of the Bulldog athletes. With a great turnout of junior and senior student athletes, coaches, and community members the evening proved to be an exciting night.

The evening began with a year in pictures and recognition of post season honors from last spring until this spring. Post Season honors included anyone who has been named to All-Conference teams, All-Academic teams, or any other conference awards were named.

Dr. Grant Willhite continued the program with the presentation of the Academic Achievement Awards. Receiving this honor was for Baseball- Brad Carpenter, Men's Basketball- Arden Beeler, Women's Basketball- Courtney Gobble, Softball- Lindsay Arndts, Women's Lacrosse- Serra Kerley, Men's Lacrosse-Tyler Caviness, Volleyball- Kaylan Powers, Women's Track- Rachel Hull, Men's Golf- McKeehan Rue, Women's Golf- Stephanie Carr, Men's Tennis- Bret Wade, Women's Tennis- Jayden Morrison, Women's Soccer- Ashlie Reagan, Dance- Talley Burke, Cheerleading- Kimberly Layman. The James W. Thompson Academic Achievement Award is given to a male and female senior athlete with the highest GPA. Tyler Caviness and Lindsay Arndts were the recipients of this award.

The night continued with the Champions of Characters awards given to a member of each team that exemplifies the five core values of integrity, respect, responsibility, sportsmanship, and servant leadership. Those named were for Baseball- Ryan Phillips, Men's Basketball- Jon Tucker, Women's Basketball- Courtney Gobble, Softball- Brandi Lasley, Volleyball- Sarah Stoffle, Women's Lacrosse- Anna Headen, Men's Lacrosse- Parker Thomas, Women's Cross Country- Robbiccaa Williams, Men's Cross Country- Roderick Bowman, Women's Golf- Stephanie Carr, Men's Golf- Josh Wheeler, Men's Tennis-Bret Wade, Women's Tennis- Beatriz Signori, Women's Soccer- Rachel Hull, Men's Soccer- Garrett Koon, Men's Track- Cameron Knox, Women's Track- Beth Sexton, Cheerleading- Elizabeth Box, and Dance- Samantha Carroll. The Overall Champions of Character awards were given to Josh Williams and Bailey Lyness.


The night continued with the presentation of awards to senior male and female athletes. Floyd "Jack" Bowling Award was given first and the recipients were Jon Tucker and Kimberly Key. Next was the Stan Harrison Award which was given to Will Munley and Courtney Gobble.  M.C. "Tip" Smith Award followed with Bret Wade and Ashlie Reagan being honored. Brooke Ward and Daelyn Swafford were awarded the Athletic Director's Award. The final award to the athletes was the Dwain Farmer award which was given to David Escobosa and Cody Houck.

The final award given was the Jack Prince Award. This award is given to a community member who devotes extra time and service to the Athletic Department. Sharon Brown was recognized as going above and beyond for the Athletic department and TWC.