TWC Athletic News
News Photo
Women's Lacrosse - Thu, Apr. 17, 2014

The National Women's Lacrosse League announced Monday the bracket for the 2014 NWLL National Championship hosted by Lindenwood University – Belleville. For the second consecutive year the Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD) Lady Bees receive the number one seed. The Lady Bees come into the national championship sporting a 13-0 overall record and a 6-0 conference record. In the South Region Tournament the Lady Bees defeated Tennessee Wesleyan 14-7 and then defeated Reinhardt University 19-10 in the championship game. Davenport University has received the second seed in this year tournament. The Lady Panthers finished the regular season with a 15-2 record and a WHAC Conference Championship. In the semifinals of the conference tournament the Lady Panthers defeated Siena Heights 29-13. The Lady Panthers then defeated Indiana Tech 15-10 in the finals. The third seed in this year's tournament goes to the west region champions, the Lady Eagles of Robert Morris University – Chicago.  The Lady Eagles finished the season with a 14-4 overall record and a perfect 8-0 conference record. At the West Region Conference Tournament the Lady Eagles defeated Oklahoma Baptist in opening round action, before defeating Missouri Baptist 13-11 in the championship. Rounding out the top four seeds is the Lady Eagles of Reinhardt University. The Lady Eagles come into the NWLL National Championship with a 15-4 overall record and 7-1 conference record. Three of the four losses for the Lady Eagles came to Davenport University and SCAD. The Lady Eagles finished second in the south region after falling to SCAD 19-10 in the South Region Conference Tournament.


Indiana Tech receives the number five seed in this year's tournament after finishing the regular season 10-5. The Lady Warriors finished second at the WHAC Conference Tournament after falling to Davenport University 15-10. Aquinas College receives the sixth seed at the championship after finishing the season 10-4. The Lady Saints are winners of seven of their last eight, including victories over Indiana Tech and Davenport University. Missouri Baptist University finished second in the west region and receives the seventh seed at the championship. The Lady Spartans finished the season 11-4 overall and 7-3 in conference play. After defeating Midland University 12-7 in the semifinals of the West Region Conference Tournament, the Lady Spartans fell to RMU-Chicago 13-11 in the championship. The Lady Bulldogs of Tennessee Wesleyan round out this year's championship. After finishing the season 8-8, the Lady Bulldogs receive the eighth seed at this year's championship. The Lady Bulldogs finished the season 5-3 in conference play.


The NWLL National Championship kicks off Thursday when #1 SCAD will take on #8 Tennessee Wesleyan at 12 pm. At 2:30 pm #4 Reinhardt University will take on #5 Indiana Tech. In the third game of the day #3 RMU-Chicago will take on #6 Aquinas College at 5 pm. The final game of the day will be #2 Davenport University taking on #7 Missouri Baptist at 7:30 pm. For all scores and updates please visit