TWC Athletic News
Women's Golf - Mon, May. 4, 2009

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) is proud to announce the qualifiers for the 15th Annual NAIA Women's Golf National Championships. The tournament will be held at Meadowbrook Municipal Golf Course in Rapid City, S.D., May 12-15, 2009. This event is hosted by the Rapid City Convention & Visitors Bureau. 

Defending national champion Oklahoma City is one of 28 teams, which is comprised of seven at-large's and 21 automatic qualifiers, to participate in this event. In addition, there are nine individual golfers who have earned a spot. The event consists of four championship rounds and one practice round with a total of 144 golfers.

OCU won its fourth straight title after firing a 1,267 (318-315-309-325) last season. Shanna Page of Bethel (Ind.) won the individual title with a 308 (75-78-78-77). Page is back this season to defend her individual title. 

Bethel (Ind.), Black Hills State (S.D.), California Baptist, Concordia (Ore.), Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.), Embry-Riddle (Fla.), Indiana Tech, Lindenwood (Mo.), Lindsey Wilson (Ky.), Northwood (Texas), Oklahoma City, Rocky Mountain (Mont.), St. Ambrose (Iowa), Tennessee Wesleyan, Trevecca Nazarene (Tenn.), Walsh (Ohio) and William Woods (Mo.) all received an automatic bid after winning their respective conference/independent/unaffiliated tournaments. Berry (Ga.), British Columbia and Sioux Falls (S.D.) earned an automatic bid based on their conference qualification plan. 

California State-San Marcos, Lubbock Christian (Texas), Northwood (Fla.), Savannah College of Art & Design (Ga.), Sioux Falls (S.D.), Southern Nazarene (Okla.) and Victoria (B.C.) all received an at-large bid. Also, South Dakota Mines & Technology earns a host bid. 

Nine individual qualifiers earned the trip to Rapid City. Jordan Davis (Ashford), Julie Donnestad (Lee), Caitlin Duval (Davenport), Angela Gauck (Marian), Charlotte Guilleux (Wayland Baptist), Rachel Ingram (Lee), April Martinez (Texas at Brownsville), Krista Nelson (Avila) and Maegan Rice (Mobile) all received an automatic qualification to the national championships. 

Teams will compete on the links at Meadowbrook Golf Course, an 18-hole Championship Facility, located at the foot of the beautiful Black Hills of Western South Dakota. Designed in the mid 1970's, by David Gill and Associates, Meadowbrook is traditional in its layout. At over 7,100 yards in total length, the course is an impressive challenge and offers a wonderful golf experience. Rapid Creek flows through the course and comes into play on five of the eighteen holes. The large undulating greens are vey well protected by more than 60 bunkers. Meadowbrook is considered one of the very best Championship Facilities in the country. The pristine greens have played host to the 1984 U.S.G.A. Women's Public Links Championship, one of the only two U.S.G.A. events ever to be held in South Dakota.

For more Championship information, click here.

Team Qualifiers (Listed Alphabetically)

Berry (Ga.)

Southern States Athletic Qualifier

Bethel (Ind.)

Unaffiliated Champion (GCAC/KIAC/MCC)

Black Hills State (S.D.)

Dakota Athletic Champion

British Columbia

Independent Qualifier

California Baptist

Unaffiliated Champion (CPAC/GSAC)

California State-San Marcos

At-Large #2

Concordia (Ore.)

Cascade Collegiate Champion

Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.)

Great Plains Athletic Champion

Embry-Riddle (Fla.)

The Sun Champion

Indiana Tech

Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Champion

Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)

At-Large #7

Lindenwood (Mo.)

Heart of America Athletic Champion

Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)

Mid-South Champion

Lubbock Christian (Texas)

At-Large #3

Northwood (Fla.)

At-Large #1

Northwood (Texas)

Unaffiliated Champion (MCAC/RRAC)

Oklahoma City

Sooner Athletic Champion

Rocky Mountain (Mont.)

Frontier Champion

St. Ambrose (Iowa)

Midwest Collegiate Champion

Savannah College of Art & Design (Ga.)

At-Large #5

Sioux Falls (S.D.)

Great Plains Athletic Qualifier

South Dakota Mines & Technology


Southern Nazarene (Okla.)

At-Large #6

Tennessee Wesleyan

Appalachian Athletic Champion

Trevecca Nazarene (Tenn.)

TranSouth Athletic Champion

Victoria (B.C.)

At-Large #4

Walsh (Ohio)

American Mideast Champion

William Woods (Mo.)

American Midwest Champion


Individual Qualifiers (Listed Alphabetically)

Jordan Davis, Ashford (Iowa)

Individual Medalist

Julie Donnestad, Lee (Tenn.)


Caitlin Duval, Davenport (Mich.)

Individual Medalist

Angela Gauck, Marian (Ind.)

2008 All-Tournament Returner

Charlotte Guilleux, Wayland Baptist (Texas)


Rachel Ingram, Lee (Tenn.)


April Martinez, Texas at Brownsville

Individual Medalist

Krista Nelson, Avila (Mo.)

Individual Medalist

Maegan Rice, Mobile (Ala.)